Convents in Waldniel - 16 sisters

Most of the 16 sisters who live in the Waldniel convents are already of retirement age and, as former children's village mothers, have taken on the role of grandmother or even great-grandmother: They were at Bethanien Children's Village for a long time and raised many children there. We like to maintain these relationships; they often last a lifetime. We also take part in the life of the Children's Village and are active in the parish as far as our strength allows.

Our origin continues to exist

One of our sisters regularly goes to prison. This is very important to us because it is the origin of Bethany: We all need forgiveness from time to time and before God everyone has the chance for a new beginning.

Convent in Waldniel

Since 2013, most of our sisters live again in the listed "House Clee". In 1952 our then superior, Mother Imelda, bought it for little money. She was not really interested in the house, but in the wonderful park in which it is situated. She wanted it so that she could build the children's village. In 1956 she actually put it into operation, and since then it has been growing and thriving. The park with its pond is eagerly used and loved by all who live here.

The somewhat younger sisters live in another building on the same grounds, in the Convent Jean Joseph. 

Our Prioresses are Sr. Lydia (Mary in Clover) and Sr. Jordana (Jean Joseph)

%d Bloggers like this:

Konvente in Waldniel – 16 Schwestern

Die meisten der 16 Schwestern, die in den Waldnieler Konventen leben, sind schon im Rentenalter und haben als ehemalige Kinderdorfmütter die Rolle der Großmutter oder sogar Urgroßmutter übernommen: Sie waren lange im Bethanien Kinderdorf und haben dort viele Kinder großgezogen. Diese Beziehungen pflegen wir gern; sie halten oft ein Leben lang. Auch sonst nehmen wir am Leben des Kinderdorfes teil und sind in der Pfarrei aktiv, soweit es unsere Kräfte zulassen.

Unser Ursprung hat weiterhin Bestand

Eine unserer Schwestern geht regelmäßig ins Gefängnis. Das ist uns sehr wichtig, denn es ist der Ursprung von Bethanien: Wir alle brauchen gelegentlich Vergebung und vor Gott hat jede/r die Chance auf einen neuen Anfang.

Konvent in Waldniel

Seit 2013 wohnen die meisten unserer Schwestern wieder in dem unter Denkmalschutz stehenden „Haus Clee“. 1952 hat unsere damalige Oberin, Mutter Imelda, es für wenig Geld gekauft. Sie war eigentlich nicht an dem Haus interessiert, sondern an dem wunderbaren Park, in dem es liegt. Den wollte sie haben, um das Kinderdorf bauen zu können. 1956 hat sie es tatsächlich in Betrieb genommen, und seither wächst und gedeiht es. Der Park mit seinem Weiher wird von allen, die hier leben, eifrig genutzt und geliebt.

Die etwas jüngere Schwestern leben in einem anderen Gebäude auf dem gleichen Gelände, im Konvent Jean Joseph. 

Unsere Priorinnen sind Sr. Lydia (Maria im Klee) und Sr. Jordana (Jean Joseph)